Animal Lives Matter

I want to post something short and sweet today about one of the biggest loves of my life: animals.

For anyone that knows me, I am obsessed with my dogs. Their ability to connect with me emotionally is beyond any human bond I know. This is what started the adoration and respect I have for all animals at this point of my life. After doing loads of research on the meat, dairy, entertainment and beauty industries, I now know of the atrocities that happen at every moment. Animals are being murdered, abused and treated as if they have no emotion or intellect.

Now before you turn away from this topic, I want you to think about your own pet if you have one or any animal that you have interacted with. Can you say that the animal has emotion and is aware of the realities around them? If so, this shouldn’t be a difficult thing to understand.

Animals of all sizes are far more intelligent than many may realize. Pigs for example, “share a number of cognitive capacities with other highly intelligent species such as dogs, chimpanzees, elephants, dolphins, and even humans,’ said neuroscientist Lori Marino of Emory University. *Read more: here.

“Rats and mice are highly intelligent rodents. They are natural students who excel at learning and understanding concepts. Rats are considerably smaller than dogs, but they are at least as capable of thinking about things and figuring them out as dogs are!” *Read more: here.

Rabbits are also highly intelligent and are capable of loyalty and connection similar to a cat or dog.

Rabbits and rodents are some of the more popular animals to test on in the cosmetic world. We see them as disposable creatures that have no use greater than developing your lipstick and your shaving cream.

We seem to think that because these animals do not speak the same language that our species of animal does, they are lesser beings. 

As consumers, we have the power to vote. When you purchase something from Dove, Secret or Maybelline, you are contributing to the abuse of animals. When you purchase your product from a cruelty-free company, you are telling the corporate world what you value.

I myself struggled with this cognitive dissonance. I knew that I did not want to harm the animals I love, but I also had favorite brands that tested on them. I had to really go deep within myself to solidify what really mattered to me.

Because I chose to go cruelty-free, I felt liberation from my internal moral tug of war.

If you would like to learn more about cruelty-free cosmetics and how to find products that you love without harming others, you can take a look at my blog  Everything Nice Beauty.

Sincerely,

Abby

 

Leave a Reply

